Book Review · Books

Our Year In Love and Parties-A (Non-Spoiler) Review

Synopsis:

“In this poignant, funny, and romantic novel, four nights of epic partying will see two teens through their highest highs and lowest lows over the course of one unforgettable year. Perfect for fans of Gayle Forman and Mary H.K. Choi!

Tucker knows that some relationships take work. With his best friend, Bobby, and his mom, everything is simple, steady. His dad, on the other hand, seems to only show up when he wants to bring Tucker down. Then there’s Erika Green, who comes back into his life, stirring up old feelings. A small part of him knows he shouldn’t get too attached during senior year. But a bigger part doesn’t want her to disappear again.

Erika from before the video loved to shock people. Now, she just wants to hole up in her quiet college life and leave the past where it belongs—in a dumpster fire. But then she reconnects with Tucker Campanelli. Erika can’t explain what it is about him. There’s just this undeniable connection between them, and she really doesn’t want to lose that feeling. Not yet.”

Review:

The book is told in dual POVs of Erika and Tucker. The book focuses on moments shared between Tucker and Erika as they meet by chance and sometimes intentionally in several parties that occur in the span of one year. I felt the several time gaps between parties made the story fragmented as we seemed to see only parts of Tucker and Erika in the parties. As a result, it was hard to understand and relate to certain actions and behavior of the characters. The story also dragged towards the end. This is not to say that the book was boring. It was quite engaging and entertaining and I loved reading Tucker’s narrative. I am not much of a party person and so was quite skeptical about whether I would enjoy a story based entirely on parties but somehow,  I didn’t mind reading it.  This can’t be counted as a spoiler but there are several mentions of Harry Potter in the book as well. Overall, it was a decent read for me.

2 thoughts on “Our Year In Love and Parties-A (Non-Spoiler) Review

  1. Thank you for sharing your thoughts on that one! It has been on my most anticipated list for a little while now and it sounded like such a good read, but I have to say I’m a little nervous to… well, not to relate and feel for the characters too much, because of the way it’s told. I guess I’ll see, I’m sorry this happened to you though! I hope you’ll love your next read 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s